Have I attained access concentration?

Darin, modified 9 Years ago at 5/29/14 6:39 AM
Created 9 Years ago at 5/29/14 6:39 AM

Have I attained access concentration?

I’ve been meditating for about two years. In the beginning, mostly concentration style with my awareness tuned to the rising and falling of my abdomen. I did a 10 day Goenka Vipassana retreat earlier this year. Lately I’ve been switching from concentration at the beginning of my sits to noting towards the end. I’m noting about 1 to 2 times per second. Mostly I’m aware of the ending of thoughts but occasionally I can see the arising as well. Or at least, I can remember the arising of the thought after the thought has passed if it is a short thought.
I generally sit for about one hour in the morning and one hour in the evening. I try to practice mindfulness during my daily routine whilst driving around, walking around, during conversations and so on. I’m enjoying the benefits of mediation practice. I’m less irritable, more focused, and have more frequent moments of spontaneous joy arising from simple causes such as looking at a outcrop of sunflowers on the side of the road.
I’ve read Daniel Ingram’s book MCTB and am intrigued with the maps of insight. I would like to know where I might be on the maps.
I’ve noticed a pattern forming with my sits. Usually about ten minutes into a sit there is a slight shift of consciousness usually accompanied by a minor rapture or movement of energy along my thoracic spine, neck and the back of my head. The shift is also accompanied by a brighter cleaner visual field (though my eyes are closed). It’s like going from hessian to silk. Is this access concentration? Usually it is followed by the occasional minor rapture. It’s like a subtle wave of energy moves upwards towards and through my head.
In recent days I’ve also experienced a very fast jolt through my upper body and head. It’s similar the jolt sometimes experienced at the edge of sleep.