Brick wall during meditation

John, modified 9 Years ago at 7/11/14 4:39 PM
Created 9 Years ago at 7/11/14 4:38 PM

Brick wall during meditation

Hello,

I've been meditating for around 2 months, 1-2 hours each day and early on I made
some good progress. I even came to a point of absolute bliss and joy and it felt like
a light was bubbling up from within. It lasted for around 3-10 mintues and i belive that 
this is caleld a meditative absoroption.

However, now I am noticing that I've hit a brick wall and nothing really is happening.
I have no problems with focusing on the breath and I can do that for an entire hour.
But I can't replicate the experience which I went through.

It's like I am focused on the breath and sensations and that's all there is.
Can someone help me out?
thumbnail
Jake, modified 9 Years ago at 7/11/14 6:47 PM
Created 9 Years ago at 7/11/14 6:47 PM

RE: Brick wall during meditation

John:

But I can't replicate the experience which I went through.

Just pointing out something you wrote. Seems like you are craving something and possibly getting frustrated by not attaining it? 
thumbnail
Richard Zen, modified 9 Years ago at 7/11/14 7:36 PM
Created 9 Years ago at 7/11/14 7:35 PM

Remember these blissful conditions appear when the conditions are right.  By continuing to practice you are exercising your brain to be good at concentration.  There will always be down-times where you don't get the big bliss (dopamine?).  Just accepting the meditation as it is (mind-blowing or not) will reduce aversion to meditation.  

Basically stress comes from the consciousness measuring what is good and bad (including meditation) in any experience (including all types of thinking).  Learning to relax the negative perceptions by relaxing the body, face and relinquish negative thinking you'll recover and can continue with the concentration.