Not sure where I am at, feels like a reset?

Shane William Martins, modified 9 Years ago at 7/15/14 11:41 PM
Created 9 Years ago at 7/15/14 4:45 PM

Not sure where I am at, feels like a reset?

Hello everyone, not sure if I should start with an introduction or not. This might be a long one, so let me just dig in.

I believe that the idea of a Bodhisattva is something attainble in this life, and that through proper training, one can be "reborn" as a Bodhisattva in this life. I think I have done just this.

I've been studying and practicing Buddhism for 16 years. Almost 2 years ago I "popped" through the Gate. However, I was not satisfied, life was still...missing something. In fact, life felt rather "robotic" and I labeled all forms and objects as "stories" and "Mu" which is wonderful if you are trying to break yourself away from self-notself duality, but I also think it can go too far. Reducing the human experience to just nuerochemistry is, imho, also just a story and a defensive technique of mind. The Gate swings both ways.

Anyways, so a few weeks ago I get the itch again to start digging. "This, surely, is not the nirvana Siddhartha spoke of?" questions plauged me. So I started doing some research on the four stages of enlightenment, pegged myself as a stream enterer, and went to do some Dharma Combat. It was...one of the most interesting experiences of my life. I was "on fire" so to speak, cutting delusions away left and right, working on my own fetters (I called them "sticking points" at first, and "clouds" by the end. Love me some Li Po!). 

This is the point where my claims get...unfounded? I dunno. Something very, very serious happened, but I'm not sure how much of this is ego. Let me spit it out, and hopefully someone wiser can shine some light.