First Jhana

thumbnail
Newt, modified 9 Years ago at 8/1/14 9:33 PM
Created 9 Years ago at 8/1/14 9:32 PM

First Jhana

Hi DhO,

This is my first real post on the forums!
I have an experience I'd like diagnosed. 
But first, a little background:

I've been practicing vipassana for a few months (since April), and have read just a couple dharma books (satipatthana sutta and MTCB ). I suspect I discovered it because I was floundering around in some semblance of the dark night. I'm planning on attending my first retreat in October 2014.

The experience (which I believe might be the first samatha jhana):

A few weeks in, and after some encouraging progress doing basic insight practices, I made the resolution to attain jhana. I didn't really know what I was looking for except that it involved focusing intently on something and basically amplifying any good feelings that arise. 

So I chose the breath as my object, sat down and committed myself to discovery with the firm resolution of not getting trapped in any feelings. After a few minutes of setting up mindfulness, I started to focus on the breath and soon discovered a very pleasant sensation similar to butterflies in the stomach. With every breath it became more pleasant and its scope inched outwards from my stomach. After a while (10 to 20 minutes) I felt a strong tingling centered in the middle of my forehead that felt connected to the butterflies-in-the-stomach feeling. Once this hit, any distractions in my mind collapsed and it became really easy to focus. But still I kept being aware of the breath and these pleasant feelings. Sometime afterwards, maybe 20 or 30 minutes, at the end of an out breath came this intense feeling of strobing warmth pulsating out from my centre and it felt like my whole body was subtly but strongly vibrating. I thought 'holy shit!' and lost my focus. I have the impression that this feeling lasted 6 seconds, but I wasn't counting.