Depression disappeared forever

thumbnail
Illuminatus, modified 9 Years ago at 8/11/14 9:27 AM
Created 9 Years ago at 8/11/14 9:25 AM

Depression disappeared forever

I've been meditating for nearly 6 years. I have never had a teacher and followed various guides in a haphazard way. Mainly I was just muddling through it myself. The only time I came across and looked at a proper structure for my practice and the path was Daniel's book, MCTB, which I'm halfway through now.

Anyway, I'll describe an experience and want to see where it fits with all this. I had bipolar symptoms for about 10 years -- particularly depressions which would cycle about once a month and last for a week or two. Some sad thought or other would trigger some process which would declare that the whole thing was fucking pointless and I'd basically withdraw for a week.

About 4 months ago, I entered a depressive phase. I began doing something which, at the time, felt like a "last resort". I was astounded to find what I'd done written practically word-for-word when I read MCTB a few days ago:
Try this little exercise the next time some kind of strong and
seemingly useless or unskillful emotion arises. First, stabilize precisely
on the sensations that make it up and perhaps even allow these to
become stronger if this helps you to examine them more clearly. Find
where these are in the body, and see as clearly as possible what sorts of
images and story lines are associated with these physical sensations. Be
absolutely clear about the full magnitude of the suffering in these, how
long each lasts, that these sensations are observed and not particularly in
one’s control.
Lying down, I stayed with these "sadness" emotions for a long time, say 30 minutes, and would fall asleep "into" them each time which would give strange dreams connected to the themes.