Mapping Metta practice, first try

thumbnail
bernd the broter, modified 7 Years ago at 3/8/17 10:16 AM
Created 9 Years ago at 9/18/14 1:35 PM

Mapping Metta practice, first try

Motivation:
In December 2013, I went on a Metta retreat with Bhante Sujato, which was great. I've been practicing according to his instructions for 9 months, and although the transformation went slow and almost unnoticably gradual (except for 3 distinct points of letting go), I think it was (and still is) definitely worth it. Since the retreat, I've only been practicing the first person (myself).
Also, I recognize that developing Metta and thus removing anger to myself was certainly what I needed now.

So, I'm wondering why
-few people on DhO actually talk about their Metta practice or don't do it at all
-newcomers with problems are usually told to go practice insight meditation and reach stream entry as fast as possible, when it is obvious that lots of their issues are probably due to other conditions which will hardly change by experiencing a fruition or two.
My speculation is that Metta is largely ignored because
1) a great part of the psychologized Mushroom culture dharma is so obsessed with it
2) MCTB talks little about it
3) It's hard to find detailed information as Metta. Compare that to descriptions of how to attain Jhanas or the Progress of Insight. Maybe that makes it easy to write it off as a practice without real lasting effect.

1) ...Nothing to do here.
2) I do recognize that MCTB does indeed mention Metta, and recommends it under certain circumstances. Maybe it would be a good idea to mention it more often in MCTB 2 because I think it's something people need to realize. (Or I'm just over-generalizing from my own experience. I actually don't know how valuable the practice of metta is, if you're not an anger type) At least I only really noticed the recommendation when I was rereading the book for the third time some months ago.