Category for Beginners?

thumbnail
Paul Kinkade, modified 9 Years ago at 9/24/14 8:56 PM
Created 9 Years ago at 9/24/14 8:56 PM

Category for Beginners?

I'm a total beginner to this stuff and I tend to have questions that feel naïve or clueless. I know none of you would judge me for my questions, but I would feel more confident posting them in a thread specifically for beginners. More experienced meditators could visit it and probably have fun encouraging beginners and clearing up their misconceptions.

Questions like:
How exactly does one attain to access concentration?
Should I try to focus the mind on the breath first, or jump straight in to Mahasi-style noting? Pros/cons?
If I've read MCTB and feel like I know what he's getting at, should I dive in on that information alone or will I be surprised by what happens?
If my eventual goal is Actual Freedom, is there any benefit in doing vipassana first?
Am I biting off more than I can chew?
Derek, modified 9 Years ago at 9/24/14 9:16 PM
Created 9 Years ago at 9/24/14 9:16 PM

RE: Category for Beginners?

We were all beginners once. I recommend you read Basic Exercise I on this page: http://www.buddhanet.net/m_part1.htm
ftw, modified 9 Years ago at 9/25/14 3:28 AM
Created 9 Years ago at 9/25/14 2:28 AM

Paul Kinkade:
I'm a total beginner to this stuff and I tend to have questions that feel naïve or clueless. I know none of you would judge me for my questions, but I would feel more confident posting them in a thread specifically for beginners. More experienced meditators could visit it and probably have fun encouraging beginners and clearing up their misconceptions.

Questions like:
How exactly does one attain to access concentration?
Should I try to focus the mind on the breath first, or jump straight in to Mahasi-style noting? Pros/cons?
If I've read MCTB and feel like I know what he's getting at, should I dive in on that information alone or will I be surprised by what happens?