Hello there!

thumbnail
Doug M, modified 9 Years ago at 10/10/14 10:52 AM
Created 9 Years ago at 10/10/14 10:51 AM

Hello there!

Hi folks,

Wanted to find a spot to introduce myself without getting in the way of more focused conversations so "misc" seemed appropriate. emoticon

I heard Dan on a podcast this morning and after a google search found this site.
I can't wait to dig into it.
It's a little overwhelming as there's so much here, but that's a good problem to have!

I'm a relative noob, and it's hard sometimes to find truly good groups and teachers outside of the major metros.
I'm hopoing this site may help fill that gap for me.

Some "about me" stuff if you're interested...

Been playing around with meditating (on/off/on) for a while, but only got serious about a legit practice earlier this year. Along with that came a desire dig into it and understand all the "Eastern/Buddhist stuff" behind it.

I had tired of the most obvious spirituality choices presented to me as a westerner, and was instantly drawn to the practicality of Buddhist thought. I was focusing in on the Theravada flavors at the time, and the fact that it boiled down to techniques to be tried/experienced vs. blindly accepted (the lack of dogma) was amazing to me. That it was all done with a goal of living better here and now was refreshing.

I was impressed that the practice of these “Buddhist teachings” were completely compatible with any belief system – or the lack of one. 

Since then I've been reading, studying, and practicing.
Seen unquestionable improvements in how I feel, and how I react to the people & world around me.

Still have LOTS to learn. Lots to do.
Looking forward to it.
thumbnail
Dream Walker, modified 9 Years ago at 10/10/14 11:10 AM
Created 9 Years ago at 10/10/14 11:10 AM

RE: Hello there!

Doug M:
It's a little overwhelming as there's so much here, but that's a good problem to have!

A good place to start is by reading Daniel's book MCTB. Here is the link -