Negative effects of meditation bleeding into everyday life.

j m m, modified 9 Years ago at 12/21/14 7:19 AM
Created 9 Years ago at 12/21/14 7:07 AM

Negative effects of meditation bleeding into everyday life.

Hi,This is goingto be a long post!
First an overview of my practice. I've been practicing for about 4 years, constantly cycling through periods of more intense practice and then pratically none and back again. More intense for me would be 3 to 4 hours a day including at least 45mins yoga while pratically none would be still almost everyday doing something maybe yoga or 20 minutes meditation. As well as time as passed I find myself bringing myself deliberatly into the present moment more and more often during everyday life. I found meditation through yoga which I was practicing at home using videos from youtube (I was suffering from extreme social anxiety at the time and could barely leave my house, this has improved massively but my social anxiety isstill a major issue for me.) After the first week of practicing yoga every day with a few minutes sivassana at the end I started getting very unplesant sensations in my chest area which forced me to stop practing until they subsided which took about a week. Started yoga again same thing. So I went googling for answers and found theDharmaOverground and got an answer from someone to jus focus on the unpleasant sensations and see what happened. Which helpedĀ  and they disapearred( this was under another account that I lost thepassword for). A week later the sensations were back however and have been ever since in one form or another. I've become much better at perceiving the sensations more clearly as time has gone by. The most constant is an tightness/pain/tension in my left stomach or chest but this sensation can be in the middle or right hand side occasionally. When these 'dissolve/breakup' either a sob burst out or there is a feeling of cool energy rushing down my body to my legs which is mildly pleasant, actuall