mahasi style

thumbnail
Bryan, modified 9 Years ago at 1/3/15 11:02 AM
Created 9 Years ago at 1/3/15 11:02 AM

mahasi style

hello, I am wanting to do Mahasi style noting practing but I have read that you have to note everything that arises in the 6 senses. My understanding is that countless new sensations arise all over the body all the time. This is over whelming, I wouldn't know where to begin if I noted everything going on. Not to mention I couldn't keep up. Is it better to one primary object like the rising of the abdomen and then if something pulls attention away then note it? I am an absolute beginner at Mahasi style noting, any help would be appreciated. Thank you in advance.

with metta,

Bryan
thumbnail
Bill F, modified 9 Years ago at 1/3/15 12:00 PM
Created 9 Years ago at 1/3/15 12:00 PM

RE: mahasi style

Noting That link is for Kenneth Folk's basic noting instructions.

If you have skype I could meet up with you as well and demonstrate 1:1

Bill
thumbnail
Alan Smithee, modified 9 Years ago at 1/3/15 12:04 PM
Created 9 Years ago at 1/3/15 12:04 PM

The important thing is to stay present moment aware.  You can note fast [multiple sensations a moment] or slow [one sensation per moment]. Perhaps start by trying to note one sensation per moment.  You can focus on the body, the mind, etc.  Then, when your concentration grows, try opening up your focus/awareness to note two simultaneous sensations per moment, then three, etc.  Yes, it can be very hard to note more than one sensation per moment AT FIRST.  But what you will find as you practice, and your concentration develops, is that it grows easier and more natural.