A Year of Concentration

thumbnail
bluefields, modified 9 Years ago at 3/1/15 1:24 PM
Created 9 Years ago at 3/1/15 1:12 PM

A Year of Concentration

Hello,

I'm a 28-year-old college student, and I've been meditating off and on for about 10 years or so. I read MCTB about 3 years ago, was really fascinated and inspired by it, and started taking practice a lot more seriously. I sat more regularly and did several self-retreats lasting 1-2 days (with questionable discipline). I'd say this lasted about a year.

Since then, I've slowly been meditating less and less. So I decided I wanted to dedicate myself to a daily concentration practice for a year and see how well I do. Unless there's a really compelling reason not to, I want to stick with one practice for the whole year: following the breath at the nostrils. (I've tried the abdomen and I've tried feeling the breath throughout the body [as per Thanissaro Bhikku's method], and I've found that the nostrils more quickly and easily give rise to more powerful states of concentration and less mind-wandering.)

Right now, I meditate every morning for 25 minutes. I want to increase this to at least 40 over the next month or two. Evening meditations are typically low-quality for me, but I'd like to eventually start doing a shorter session before bed as well.

I also try to stay aware of the breath at the nostrils throughout the day. I think I should be more systematic and consistent in doing this, since otherwise I'm really not going to be meditating all that much. I've found that formal sittings make this constant breath awareness practice much easier.

My main goals in doing this are to reduce stress and anxiety, and increase peace and well-being. I also want the time I spend doing this practice to help me replace some of my addictive/unskillful behaviors (spending too much mindless time on the internet, mainly).

I plan to post updates every week or two, and a longer update every month.