How to proceed, and make progress

Darrell, modified 9 Years ago at 3/18/15 12:48 PM
Created 9 Years ago at 3/18/15 12:43 PM

How to proceed, and make progress

So I've been practicing sitting for about ten years, but with erratic and varying degrees of commitment and consistency. The only instruction or guidance I've had was a few months with the Soto Zen group where I then lived. I don't find Zen terribly helpful, it's a bit too DIY for me. Since last September, everything changed, and I've been driven. I'm able to keep the pursuit of this path in mind throughout the day (whatever this path is, Buddhist but without the Buddhism? The principles without all the accreted tradition, sectarianism, etc). I'm able to be conscious to practice, work on mindfulness, etc. I meditate 45 minutes in the morning and again at night. I'm planning for a ten day retreat at the Goenka Vipassana center in S. Georgia.

I'm not sure how to proceed. I buy and download (free from Buddhanet, etc) books to hopefully help guide me. I listen to talks online and in the car when I drive. But in spite of all of this I really don't know for sure what the right direction is. I have no real access to teachers. I can't find any teachers, centers and such near me and Atlanta is a bit of a drive, but the way my life is set up makes it hard to get there with any consistency. Never mind trying to choose a center (meaning some place for guidance and instruction). The few good places cost more than I can afford (Drepung Loseling). I've already followed a few dead ends (Eckhart Tolle, Adyashanti) and question my ability to really discern who's legit and reliable. Same with books. Bought what looks like a great examination of the Heart Sutra, only to find that Kelsang Gyatso and his organization are apparently associated with a murder. And there seems to be a number of people who believe books by the Dalai Lama are fluff (I've been reading and studying "How To See Yourself As You Really Are")