negative effects of seeing emptiness in day to day life?

Mike H, modified 9 Years ago at 4/9/15 4:28 PM
Created 9 Years ago at 4/9/15 4:17 PM

negative effects of seeing emptiness in day to day life?

I've been meditating for a few years now and met some of you at the Boulder Buddhist Geeks event.

Here is my difficulty: I can have a pretty clear experience of 'emptiness' of self or of objects walking around in day to day life. In some ways this is freeing. But I am seeing that this tends to overlap with asort of negative, existential emptiness that leads to more dissatisfaction. 

For example, I frequently experience avolition. Arguably this matches up with the theravadan tradition, which describes a gradual lessening of craving as you advance along the path.  I have certainly had avolition seem freeing in my daily life, because I wasn't craving anything.  But this can also be a symptom of a personality disorder/depression.  It has also been frustrating when this pops up at work and at times, even in my private life.  This frequently crosses into not really caring for/taking enjoyment from things I generally like.

Further, I frequently start to experience boredom and craving for intense experiences and feeling. Dissatisfaction with the hollowness of day to day routines. So the meditative practice is really starting to push into the sense of 'emptiness' that people with personality disorders might feel.