Difficulty Breathing While Developing Concentration

Warren McDaniel, modified 8 Years ago at 5/6/15 2:36 AM
Created 8 Years ago at 5/6/15 2:36 AM

Difficulty Breathing While Developing Concentration

Hello, I recently found this forum through some lengthy Google searches and am really hoping someone here can answer my question. I have been practicing concentration meditation for about two years and have seen decent success from it so far, but still have been unable to achieve the first Jhana. When developing relaxation, my breath begins to become more and more shallow. From what I have read this is supposed to happen, but suddenly I am overcome with an urge to take a deep breath in, as if I'm starved of Oxygen. Is this feeling normal in the path to achieving Jhana? 
thumbnail
Phantom of the Opera, modified 8 Years ago at 5/8/15 5:29 AM
Created 8 Years ago at 5/8/15 5:14 AM

RE: Difficulty Breathing While Developing Concentration

It is not abnormal (but I'm no expert). If you follow Leigh Brasington's instructions, it would be the good timing to shift your attention to a pleasant sensation: