Spontaneous physical Joy?

Myystic Owl, modified 8 Years ago at 5/6/15 11:28 AM
Created 8 Years ago at 5/6/15 11:28 AM

Spontaneous physical Joy?

Hello everyone,

Background:
I am new here. I have been reading a lot, but this is my first post. I have been meditating (formally) for ~8 months now. I obviously started like most people, first fighting through the subconscience thoughts, but pushing past them. I think I have mastered stage 7 from here and I have reached the 8th stage:
http://dharmatreasure.com/wp-content/uploads/LightOnMeditationHandout.pdf

I am experiencing something that I can not explain, nor have I found a good explaination for in my travels. It didn't start until after I was meditating for about 6 months and I'm very certain it has coorilation to my practice. About my daily activities, normally when reading / researching on the topic of buddhiam or meditation, I get a spontaneous tingle up my spine that "engulfs" my entire mind & body. It almost feels like being encased in crystal, almost like pure physical joy. Like all my neurons fire in a way starting from the spine and spread out, down the arms, down the legs, up around the head. 

I can also get to a state similar to this after having meditated for a long time and truely let go... it starts out with a quick "push" into this state and I quickly fall out of it, but after a while longer (and this has only happend a few times) I can enter this state and sustain this crystalize feeling.

Thougths? Thanks in advance.
MyysticOwl
Myystic Owl, modified 8 Years ago at 5/6/15 2:02 PM
Created 8 Years ago at 5/6/15 1:17 PM

RE: Spontaneous physical Joy?

Really, interesting... I've just been trying to figure out what it is... Pīti? (Joy, Rapture) Jhana?

I practice just basic samatha/vipassana meditation. Focus on the breath, do it long enough, the physical stimuli fades to the background. At this point I start to dissolve the ego and merge with the breath.