Strong Body Sensations

thumbnail
Wayne Conner, modified 8 Years ago at 5/9/15 1:46 PM
Created 8 Years ago at 5/9/15 1:45 PM

Strong Body Sensations

Hello,

I've been a long time reader of DO but never had a reason to post before now. For the past few weeks, I've been experiencing a greater awareness of my body when I'm not meditating. By awareness I mean the vibratory sensations that we look at during vipassana. In the beginning I only noticed it when I wasn't fully concentrating on anything, it was just there in the background of my awareness. The last past couple of weeks, however, its gotten stronger to the point where unless I'm a sleep, I feel this constant flickering tension through out my body, to the point where its getting unpleasant. Sometimes I feel like I'm about to jump out of my skin. Has anyone experienced this before or have any advice on how to stop it?

Background information: I've been practicing meditation for 11 years this summer. I started with a local zen group, sitting 2-3 times a week. Around 7 years ago, I started sitting everyday doing mainly concentration practices (anapansati). The last several months I've been doing strictly vipassana and noting practice. Mapwise, I don't believe that I've gotten close to 1st path or even crossed the A&P yet. I've had a few weird experiences on and off the cushion (kundalini like bursts, hearing disembodied voices, seeing with the eyes closed, etc) but nothing that would lead me to think that I'm all that far along on the path.
thumbnail
Wayne Conner, modified 8 Years ago at 6/14/15 5:18 PM
Created 8 Years ago at 6/14/15 5:18 PM

RE: Strong Body Sensations