Eating animals

Markus, modified 6 Years ago.

Eating animals

I would like to start a discussion on this. We have another thread going here where we talk about this a little but the purpose of that thread was something else and I felt it's better to start fresh. I also feel i came across as a little condescending over there (i was going through some dark night shit) and that is not my intention. I admit that i have some room for development in my communication skills regarding matters such as this. I figured starting this thread is a good way to practise. 

I think it's wrong to eat animals in this day and age. It's unnecessary. I also think its harmful to our health, our environment and ethically speaking, harmful to other sentient life forms. I'm no expert when it comes to the science of these matters but from a philosophical viewpoint i cannot see any fault in the reasoning of wanting to cause minimal harm on our precious time on this earth. I have yet to find a justification that would indicate otherwise. 

Do you agree or disagree with this position?

Now how does this pertain to buddhism? I think it gets to the heart of it. And that is what the first training (morality, 4th noble truth, 8-fold path, etc) is all about. It does not matter so much what buddha or anyone decided to do back in the day. Times have changed. We live in a different world. What matters is what we do now. So yes, it is very crucial i believe to how we live in this world.