Looking for a teacher in San Francisco

Chris, modified 8 Years ago at 5/31/15 3:08 PM
Created 8 Years ago at 5/31/15 3:08 PM

Looking for a teacher in San Francisco

Hello everyone, 

Long-time occassional lurker here. 

I am looking for a teacher in (or very near) San Francisco and would greatly appreciate any suggestions or advice. 

I have committed myself to Buddhism as a path in general but have not selected a particular school. So far I have been exposed to:
  • 2-3 hours of teaching from two students of Upasaka Culadasa, a teacher who has trained in both the Theravadin and Karma Kagyu tradition. Although my exposure to his studnts was limited, his very clearly written "Light on Meditation" handouts and retreat recordings have guided my Shamatha meditation practice so far.
  • I am currently studying the Kalachakra Preliminaries online with Khentrul Jamphel Lodrö Rinpoche and have plans to attend the Kalachakra teachings in Bodhgaya in January 2016.
  • Very limited exposure to the Mahayana tradition via FPMT. This lead me to Khensur Jampa Tegchok's "Insight Into Emptiness" which I am enjoying but still very much wrapping my head around.
  • A weekend retreat with the Bay Zen Center (Ordinary Mind Zen School) in Oakland.
  • A 10-day S. N. Goenka retreat.
  • Ram Dass' "Remember, Be Here Now" has been extremely influential.
  • Various profound experiences (that have had significant influences, including radically reducing my alcohol consumption, starting a mostly-daily sitting practice, and going almost entirely vegetarian... so close but not 100%! emoticon)
  • Nichiren Shōshū as a young boy.