Help with making meditations effortless

Tyfao, modified 8 Years ago at 7/6/15 6:44 PM
Created 8 Years ago at 7/6/15 6:44 PM

Help with making meditations effortless

Hi everybody, thanks for the amazing content on this forum already, it's been incredibly helpful. I now feel like I need to ask for some personal help though so here goes:

I have been meditating on and off for about 2 years. Started taking my practice seriously about 8 months ago. And even more so last 2-3 months. I have plans to take the rest of year off to work on this and do plenty of retreats with my first one coming up in a month. I keep reading everywhere that at one point you start to just want to sit and it becomes effortless but I have a lot of difficulty with this.

I have had many amazing experiences, am pretty confident I have reached 1st jhana once and get what I believe is very close pretty often. Even when my meditations aren't special, I generally feel relaxed and happy during them and especially afterwards even with a lot of the "unpleasant" sessions if I sit all the way to the end. I spend a lot of time trying to really be aware of how peaceful and happy I feel when I am mindful to encourage my brain to seek this feeling more often. I have had problems with sitting as soon as my meditations get bad, but the main problem I think I have to face now is how I never ever stop looking forward to my meditations finishing no matter how good they get. I do mostly samatha because I feel I still need to improve my concentration but do some metta and insight as well. The longest sits I have done were 60 minutes. On average these days I do 1-2 hours a day(average sit probably 30 minutes) with the most I have ever done probably 3-4 hours plus some walking meditation as well.