Where am I?

Jay, modified 8 Years ago at 7/10/15 2:18 AM
Created 8 Years ago at 7/10/15 2:18 AM

Where am I?

Firstly a big thank you to Daniel for setting up this site and the excellent MCTOB I am currently in the process of reading. I have probably learnt more in the last few weeks since I discovered this site than the previous four years combined.

Please forgive my ignorance and lack of knowledge of the technical terms etc. I have been practicing for about four years, my process has mostly been experiential and with the exception of the odd retreat, no one I know is into this stuff and I've not had much access to teachers and so have mostly been in the dark about the technical aspects and stages of enlightenment. 

After reading the excellent [url="An Idiot's guide to dharhttp://www.dharmaoverground.org/web/guest/discussion/-/message_boards/message/98873ma diagnosis"]"An Idiot's guide to dharma diagnosis" it seems like I might have crossed the A&P, but cheifly there are two expereinces that stand out in my practice so far.

Experience 1
I read Tolle's "Practicing the Power of Now" and in the following days after I practiced choiceless awareness. I fell into a deeply blissful and peaceful state, all social anxiety vanished, I felt calm and centred like I had finally found my place in the world and there was a sense of finally "coming home" to myself.

In the days that followed I began to see a gap in my thought stream and could for the first time clearly see that I was not my thoughts and that there appeared to be a presence or awareness that was witnessing these thoughts.