Best Way to Note?

MangaDesuYo, modified 8 Years ago at 8/12/15 6:46 AM
Created 8 Years ago at 8/12/15 6:46 AM

Best Way to Note?

Let's say I feel a sudden feeling of Anxiety...

Is it better to note just "Anxiety" or "unpleasant" or both "Anxiety... Unpleseant"

Example noting 1:

Anxiety
Worry
Tension
Fear
Joy

Example noting 2: (noting the mind state with whenever it's pleasant or not or neutral or whatever)
Anxiety... unpleasant
Worry.... unplesant
Tension... unplesant
Fear... unplesant
Joy...pleasant

Example noting 3: (whenever feelings such as anxiety or worry arise)
unpleasant
unpleasant
unpleasant
unpleasant
pleasant
Derek, modified 8 Years ago at 8/12/15 7:31 AM
Created 8 Years ago at 8/12/15 7:31 AM

RE: Best Way to Note?

I'm no meditation expert, but that won't stop me from expressing an opinion. emoticon

If "anxiety" is your experience, then you should of course note "anxiety".

In this tradition, though, there is an emphasis on focusing on the accompanying physical sensations. So somewhere in your experience, you'll likely see an interruption of the breath and a tensing of the belly muscles. So when you see that, note "tensing."

Remember that noting is not an aim in itself. The point is to grow your awareness, including your awareness of what's happening in your body.

And now I'll leave this thread and let the real experts take over. emoticon
neko, modified 8 Years ago at 8/12/15 9:10 AM
Created 8 Years ago at 8/12/15 9:10 AM

Julian Aureliano:
How do you know it is anxiety?
MangaDesuYo, modified 8 Years ago at 8/12/15 9:26 AM
Created 8 Years ago at 8/12/15 9:26 AM

neko:
Julian Aureliano:
How do you know it is anxiety?

The same way I know when I feel sad?
MangaDesuYo, modified 8 Years ago at 8/12/15 11:00 AM
Created 8 Years ago at 8/12/15 11:00 AM

Paweł K:
How do you know you feel sad?