Diary of a Chronic Dark Night Yogi

thumbnail
Bronson Michael Miller, modified 8 Years ago at 8/23/15 4:00 AM
Created 8 Years ago at 8/23/15 4:00 AM

Diary of a Chronic Dark Night Yogi

Hello anybody reading! My name is Bronson. I've been meditating for just over a year now, though I've had some experience with informal meditation/lucid dreaming etc. 
I started with just concentration practice then found the MCTB and realized that I crossed the A&P when I was 16 or 17 and am a "chronic dark night yogi" so I decided to do whatever it takes to get out of this terrible loop.

I would be very grateful for ANY advice or input of any kind. I am starting to experience some strange things and am not able to diagnose where I'm at in my progress of insight.

So my insight meditation started with a 10 day Goenka course and during that time my concentration really took off and I experienced some body distortion stuff and at one point my perception of reality started to strobe very clearly at about 3-4 frames per second. After this retreat my meditation practice became very irregular in frequency but in the last three months I've started to meditate daily. At first just 15-30 minutes/day using noting technique.

I was never able to notice "vibrations" or weather the center was focused or my focus was wide or anything else until one day the blackness behind my eyelids started to sort of shake. I got excited because I remember Daniel saying this needs to happen to progress through the dukka nanas. After that I felt much lighter as if some weight was lifted and like I could really practice now.

That night I was meditating lying down before bed and suddenly I had intense euphoria flood my body, the blackness went very bright, my awareness razor sharp and it felt like I was under some cool thick euphoria inducing goo. It was really great but I didn't get too excited about it. Just kept noting.