Nimitta questions

don hayes, modified 8 Years ago at 9/6/15 2:45 PM
Created 8 Years ago at 9/6/15 2:45 PM

Nimitta questions

I have been meditating for a few years and did the ten day Goenka retreat about a year ago.  I am a Dharma Orphan I live in northern Montana the nearest sangha to me is two hundred miles away.  My question is for me when a Nimitta arises my eyes start what feels like a rythmic involuntary blinking even though they are closed which is very distracting.  Any advice on what to do to solidify the Nimitta would be appreciated I try to shift my attention to the center but often the blinking is so distracting that I lose it.  Thanks in advance for any advice.
Don
thumbnail
tom moylan, modified 8 Years ago at 9/7/15 5:56 AM
Created 8 Years ago at 9/7/15 5:56 AM

RE: Nimitta questions

howdy don and welcome,
can you say why you think this blinking IS nimitta?  what are you practicing? concentration?  what's your goal?
thumbnail
Ian And, modified 8 Years ago at 9/7/15 11:16 AM
Created 8 Years ago at 9/7/15 10:44 AM

tom moylan:
can you say why you think this blinking IS nimitta?

I'm not certain he's saying that the blinking is a nimitta. He said, "when a nimitta arises my eyes start ... blinking." Gramatically, at least, he is differentiating between the nimitta arising and the eye blinking. 

What he is asking is: what can he do to experience the nimitta without the distraction of the blinking occurring. And for that, I'm e ot certain there is an answer beyond increasing mindfulness (sati) to the point that the unconscious mechanism which may causing the blinking stops. Or beyond just allowing the blinking to become part of the practice and not be distracted by it.