A beginners guide: Where and how do I start ?

thumbnail
Cristian, modified 8 Years ago at 9/11/15 4:10 AM
Created 8 Years ago at 9/11/15 3:32 AM

A beginners guide: Where and how do I start ?

One year ago I read MTCB and started practicig, but quit pretty soon as I lost my motivation due to having too high expectations and not being able to see any progres.

Yesterday I just came back from a S.N. Goenka retreat which was a pleasant experience ( 3 days of Anapana and 6 of body scanning while equanimously observing the sensastions). I decided to read some chapters from MTCB about Concentration and Insight and fould out that the techniques I have learned there are very different that what I have read on this forum.

Came back highly motivate to go on this path, and as I work as a freelancer I can put a lot of time in my practice. I'm feeling a bit confused tough, as there is so much information here, I don't even know where to start. What would you recomment me to do ? Start with Concentration practices for a while and only after go for Insight as well ? When doing Concentration, should I pick only one type of practice or do more at once ?

Also, not being able to see imediate progress makes me keep wandering weather my technique is good.

Cheers
C
thumbnail
svmonk, modified 8 Years ago at 9/11/15 2:15 PM
Created 8 Years ago at 9/11/15 2:14 PM

RE: A beginners guide: Where and how do I start ?

Hi Cristian,