Definition of Mindfulness

Kenji Noguchi, modified 8 Years ago at 9/26/15 12:08 PM
Created 8 Years ago at 9/26/15 12:08 PM

Definition of Mindfulness

I am a researcher working on research creating a scale of trait “mindfulness.” I really appreciate if you can fill out a questionnaire using the following link. It will take about 10 minutes to complete.

https://usmep.co1.qualtrics.com/SE/?SID=SV_2gVnefJyNtOufdz

In the meantime, how do you define “mindfulness?” If you can put your personal experience of mediation (e.g., how many years, how frequently, what type of meditation practices) with your answer, it is greatly appreciated. I think each person has different understanding of this concept and I am curious to see how people think of mindfulness based on their own experience.
thumbnail
Chris M, modified 8 Years ago at 9/26/15 4:52 PM
Created 8 Years ago at 9/26/15 4:52 PM

RE: Definition of Mindfulness

I'd probably participate in your study if you provide some more information up front. What institution(s) are you working from? What is the purpose of your study? What are your qualifications? Is this undergraduate, graduate or private research? Just saying what you said is not at all inviting me to help you. I need to know more beforehand.
Matt, modified 8 Years ago at 9/26/15 5:55 PM
Created 8 Years ago at 9/26/15 5:55 PM

Chris Marti:
I'd probably participate in your study if you provide some more information up front. What institution(s) are you working from? What is the purpose of your study? What are your qualifications? Is this undergraduate, graduate or private research? Just saying what you said is not at all inviting me to help you. I need to know more beforehand.

I second Chris's comments.

But for my own exercise, I'll post a reply here:

Mindfulness: Having a plan for what to do with respect to anticipated present moment events, remembering the plan, being aware enough of actual present moment events to follow through on the plan.