Does anyone actually feel Metta?

Jonathan Heck, modified 8 Years ago at 10/16/15 1:54 AM
Created 8 Years ago at 10/16/15 1:53 AM

Does anyone actually feel Metta?

Hi all -

I'm new to meditation and have recently started a Vipassana practice as outlined in MCTB. Thanks to all who make this a great resource! 

However, I have been wondering: what is the point of Metta/Loving-Kindness meditation? I saw a Shinzen video where he says how at higher levels of practice metta can have an "impact" on others around you. Similar sentiments are echoed in Sharon Salzberg's work. I wonder how true is this?

Can others actually feel this goodwill that you're cultivating towards them, or is it just another way to bliss onself out? 

I'm new here and don't mean to come off as harsh. Was just curious because I understand meditation to be an "internal" practice. This "external" aspect of metta, the ability to project something outwards, that can be manifestly experienced by others...seems unlikely.

In other words: does anyone actually feel the love?? ;)

Jon Heck
thumbnail
bernd the broter, modified 8 Years ago at 10/16/15 3:57 AM
Created 8 Years ago at 10/16/15 3:57 AM

RE: Does anyone actually feel Metta?

Metta has a ton of effects, of which blissing out and others feeling the Metta is just one aspect.

But to answer your question:
Don't make it more complicated than it is. Can you feel when others hate you? Obviously. Can you feel when others have good intentions? Of course you can. Well, unless they are very good actors/con artists or you yourself are autistic or something.

Proof: Remind yourself of a situation where someone was really nice to you/really helpful. How does experiencing that memory fully make you feel in your body?

Also, I wouldn't say that you need very high levels of Metta practice so that the practice has some effect on others. Just start practicing and it will gradually creep into your character.
thumbnail
Noah, modified 8 Years ago at 10/16/15 4:03 AM