anxiety/panic attack during concentration practice

J N, modified 8 Years ago at 10/27/15 5:00 PM
Created 8 Years ago at 10/27/15 5:00 PM

anxiety/panic attack during concentration practice

hey guys!

So im going to explain step by step what happened to me and hopefully you will be able to help me out.

Im pretty new to this whole thing. Ive only been doing samatha (mindfulness of breathing) and getting some good results, where I am pretty sure i was getting into access concentration and could stay with the breath pretty well. I have not being doing any insight practice except whatever insight i received from the first few chapters of  "Focused and Fearless" by Shail Catherine and also a book called "The Book of Not Knowing" by Peter Ralston. I was doing my 3rd 30 minute sit today when I decided to shift my focus from my breath to this feeling in my chest area, it wasnt really pleasent, I think it jsut felt neutral. After a while i started to become a little twitchy, anxious and my heart started beating VERY fast. I got nervous and stopped. Afterwards I felt pretty anxious and head this hightened sense of awereness where I was really aware of everything happening around me and also had this feeling like I could for example when looking at my arm I could  see and count every hair on it.
I searched this the forum to help me understand what happened. I found this thread:

http://www.dharmaoverground.org/discussion/-/message_boards/message/2297782

and following the lead I started reading the begging of this chapter of MCTB:

http://www.dharmaoverground.org/web/guest/dharma-wiki/-/wiki/Main/MCTB%204.%20The%20Arising%20and%20Passing%20Away?p_r_p_185834411_title=MCTB%204.%20The%20Arising%20and%20Passing%20Away