4 stages of enlightenment vs one big event

Michał G, modified 8 Years ago at 12/1/15 3:49 AM
Created 8 Years ago at 12/1/15 3:49 AM

4 stages of enlightenment vs one big event

How come that in buddhism enlightenment is experienced in this 4 path model, but all other teachers and reports of enlightenment mention only one big event? Like Ramana Maharishi, Nisargadatta Maharaj just to name a few. Did these people experience somehow 4th path without going through earlier paths or are they just after stream entry? Because no other teachers mention these stages.
thumbnail
tom moylan, modified 8 Years ago at 12/1/15 5:17 AM
Created 8 Years ago at 12/1/15 5:17 AM

RE: 4 stages of enlightenment vs one big event

hi michal,
states and stages are mentioned in almost every tradition.  i'm no expert on maharsi or on advaita generally but while they may not mention "stages" as discreet milestones they do encourage development via meditation don't they?  if this is the case then the fact that the experiences are not labeled or given specific gravities does not mean that they are not part of the "way". 

in christianity the steps of their contemplative path is not widely distributed.  in zen, it is recognized that one will have certain milestone experiences or awakenings but they are intentionally avoided as subjects of teaching method.

my point is that, just because there is no explicit mention of stages it does not mean that they are not experienced in a particular tradition.  additionally, there are many who are very well enlightened in the various buddhist flavored traditions who cannot point to the specific path experiences but nevertheless consider their attainments to parallel those who have recollection of such discreet events.
thumbnail
Noah, modified 8 Years ago at 12/1/15 1:29 PM
Created 8 Years ago at 12/1/15 1:29 PM