involuntary spasms

Diana Yeboah, modified 8 Years ago at 12/11/15 7:57 AM
Created 8 Years ago at 12/11/15 7:57 AM

involuntary spasms

Hello,
I'm sorry if I'm posting this in the wrong place but I was wondering if you may be able to help. I've been meditating on and off for three years. At my best, I reached three hours of a morning (doing TM). Then I stopped. Now i've started up again and I'm doing 90 mins a day. I focus on the sensation of cool air hitting my nostrils when I breath in. I also mentally count each breath to  stay focus. I've never reached jhana (sic). Not even close. But occasionally I do feel, what I can only describe as rushes of energy(?) which I then involuntary clench or spasm and I'm unsure what this is (pins and needles?). This morning I tried to let the sensation build withouth clenching but to no avail. Any ideas what this could? What more I can do to get on the path. I feel like I'm floudering a wee bit. Any advice would be very gratefully recieved and apologies in advance if this is a stupid/unaswerable questions. Best wishes.
thumbnail
CJMacie, modified 8 Years ago at 12/11/15 8:49 AM
Created 8 Years ago at 12/11/15 8:44 AM

RE: involuntary spasms

A curious interpretation of these involuntary physical motions that many report was offered on a recent retreat. U Jagara mentioned that Pa Auk Sayadaw (the Burmese master famous in the West for his jhana methods) thinks that such phenomena often result from improper perception of the breath along the lines of the wind / air element, rather than as just a subtle sensation of touch. That somehow evokes "wind" (motion) in the mind-body.