Recognizing Insights, Resulting Confusion, Disappointment. Comments Welcome

Kim Lentz, modified 8 Years ago at 12/12/15 10:36 PM
Created 8 Years ago at 12/12/15 9:45 PM

Recognizing Insights, Resulting Confusion, Disappointment. Comments Welcome

I have posted a couple of times, but I haven’t had anything meaningful to contribute until now.  This is a very abbreviated practice history – so abbreviated that it seems ridiculous writing it. But I know I have to write something.

For the past three years or so, I have been practicing (daily) what I thought was Insight Meditation.  I practice between 1 and 2 hours a day by habit. I also practice during regular waking hours just noting as often as I can. I have attended many weekend retreats, but nothing longer.  

I started practicing by following the sensations of the breath at the nostrils and found, in retrospect, that my concentration skills were quite good. Within about 4 to 5 months of practice I became very concentrated following the breath and inevitably ended up in jhanic states involving bliss, joy and other jhanic factors.  However, I could not relate my experience to the insight stages and concepts referred to in the MCTB.  In fact, I could never quite understand how one could focus to such a degree to see minute phenomena and NOT become concentrated into a jhanic like state.  I did not  (do not?) understand Insight practice.

I have had two peak, mind blowing experiences – the first in July of 2013 and the next in July of 2014.   The latter event was profound and resulted in some type of biological/biochemical change -  Amygdala activity reduced maybe.