Obsessive thoughts - morality or concentration?

Eddie Smith, modified 8 Years ago at 12/29/15 9:05 PM
Created 8 Years ago at 12/29/15 8:54 PM

Obsessive thoughts - morality or concentration?

Hello dharma friends!

I have been interesting in Buddhist practice for a couple of years, and have read a variety of books, and have just begun to read Daniel Ingram's 'Mastering the Core Teachings of the Buddha', I understand that a few people on this website will have also read it?

I already appreciative it's conciseness and how it begins by talking about 'three trainings': Morality, concentration, and wisdom. I realise that until now I have only really worked on the concentration training in a Buddhist or mediative context (of course as is mentioned in the book, morality training is ongoing throughout life, and all people are trainees of this discipline). I appreciate that the book recommends keeping these trainings seperate and not to confuse them, and this seems intuitively to me like sound advice, and something I have not thought about in this way before.