From Equanimity to Stream Entry -- Please Assist

thumbnail
Aleks TK, modified 8 Years ago at 1/1/16 6:41 PM
Created 8 Years ago at 1/1/16 6:24 PM

From Equanimity to Stream Entry -- Please Assist

Tonight at midnight I start the beginning of a personal seven-day retreat. That means non-stop noting from the minute I wake up to the minute I go to sleep. I've been warming up with three or four hours of meditation a day for the past few days, but I've never done anything like this before. I would appreciate some input.

I am fairly certain I am in equanimity and have been for a while. When I meditate perceiving vibrations comes instantly and instantaneously. My field of experience is 'wider' than it has been in the past, and I find myself tuning into two or three senses at the same time. At the height of my meditation sessions (usually an hour long) I perceive vibrations in touch, sight, and sound interlaced with each other. They are somewhat clear and sometimes I feel like I am coming up on LSD, with a noticable 'buzzing' all around.

However I have a few questions about my practice. Vibrations flicker so quickly  For some time I have struggled with 'interacting with' my experience. I can tune into a sense-door such as vision, but it causes me to 'tune-out' of the other sense. If I force myself to “not interact” with any senses I sort of 'tune in' to everything. However I also find that none of my senses are 'as clear' as if I were tuning into one in particular. I have often read that surrender is key. Am I practicing the right technique?

Regarding the 3Cs, this is something I haven't really been focusing on in my practice. Although upon re-reading MCTB Ingram claims paying attention to them is critical. However I'm not sure how to tune into the three characteristics when meditating, as conciously thinking about anything adds more mental objects for me to note. Could somebody clear that up for me?