How can I repair my body after a Vipassana retreat?

Sven, modified 8 Years ago at 1/21/16 7:16 PM
Created 8 Years ago at 1/21/16 7:16 PM

How can I repair my body after a Vipassana retreat?

I recently finished a 3 month retreat and my body is pretty banged up in several places. I am looking for something to help me fix it up as well as keep it in shape during future retreats. I am thinking tai chi would be a good choice but I am still new to this and looking for anything people have found useful. Thanks.
thumbnail
svmonk, modified 8 Years ago at 1/21/16 10:18 PM
Created 8 Years ago at 1/21/16 10:18 PM

RE: How can I repair my body after a Vipassana retreat?

Hi Sven,

Usually a couple nights in the hot tub work for me. Other people who have more problems get structural integration (aka rolfing). But I think a somewhat more skillful course is to avoid post-retreat problems in the first place by doing physical practices during the retreat to keep your body in good condition. Basically yin yoga and I usually take some yoga balls along to roll out places in my body that get knots or push in bones that get out of alignment. I have one spinal vertebra in my thorassic spine that sometimes gets out of place, and I use the yoga balls to push it back in. If I don't, I end up with back pain. This means that you need to have a close awareness of what is happening in your body and take action if something seems to be not right.

Hope that helps.
thumbnail
Daniel M Ingram, modified 8 Years ago at 1/24/16 5:00 AM
Created 8 Years ago at 1/24/16 5:00 AM

which places?
Sven, modified 8 Years ago at 1/24/16 8:10 PM
Created 8 Years ago at 1/24/16 8:10 PM

Thank you for the advice, I think I will look into rolfing when I get home, there are definitely some vertibre out of position. I will try to be more skillful during my next retreat, this was my first long retreat and the said I should "practice without regard for life or limb". I will practice with more regard in the future lol.