I'm conflicted-- should I stop all meditation?

thumbnail
li, modified 8 Years ago at 1/27/16 10:24 PM
Created 8 Years ago at 1/27/16 10:23 PM

I'm conflicted-- should I stop all meditation?

Main points:

--recently on Monday I felt my first vibrations, and there was a sudden jump to a point where meditation got radically easier, everything became p blissful, I could feel pressure between my eyes, the world began to vibrate, and meditation just suddenly became a process that runs itself.

--I told my father. My father, who at least a stream enterer (sotapanna), recommended that I consider stopping meditation b/c the dark night could screw up my life plans-- and wait until I am older, my life has stabilized, and I'm in the working world to continue. In sum, his point: I am at a critical point where it matters a great deal how well I do. (Right now I am an undergrad who is working to bring up my GPA so that I can get into pharm school; then I'll be in school for another 4 years. What I do in these years determines the general direction my life will take later and whether I can achieve my dreams.)

--also, b/c as a kid I was v anxious, I stress out easily, and also b/c I recently worked my way out of a condition basically subclinical to an eating disorder (a year and a half ago), I'm worried about the effects the dark night will have on me. I know it can be mild, but I also know that it can get bad--- really bad. I've read some terrifying entries here on DhO.

My question to you all (esp for those who have been through the dark night and came out the other end at EQ or SE):

Should I continue to meditate? Or should I just take a break until undergrad + pharm school are over to take up meditation once more?
thumbnail
Noah, modified 8 Years ago at 1/27/16 11:56 PM
Created 8 Years ago at 1/27/16 11:56 PM

RE: I'm conflicted-- should I stop all meditation?

li. :