Staying Motivated

thumbnail
Jake, modified 8 Years ago at 2/10/16 11:24 AM
Created 8 Years ago at 2/10/16 11:24 AM

Staying Motivated

I've been practicing on and off for a couple years. There have been bouts of serious practice and bouts of no practice at all. The main struggle for me has been keeping a consistent practice but also maintaining a motivation and desire to meditate. At times I feel so depressed and unmotivated to do anything let alone sit on the cushion. I am aware of the tremendous benefits of meditation yet I am distracted by other petty things which offer no long term benefit.

I feel like I have been unable to get over the hump and really make serious gains in terms of meditation. I am able to lift three times a week with no problem but meditation is so damn hard at times.  
thumbnail
Jim Smith, modified 8 Years ago at 2/10/16 12:24 PM
Created 8 Years ago at 2/10/16 12:09 PM

RE: Staying Motivated

At times I feel so depressed and unmotivated to do anything let alone sit on the cushion. ... I am able to lift three times a week with no problem but meditation is so damn hard at times.  

There might be a connection between lifting and depression.

http://www.livestrong.com/article/392641-does-exercise-cause-depression/

exercise has a point of diminishing returns; increasing your exercise levels too quickly without enough rest can negatively affect your emotional state and cause depressive symptoms.

Overtraining Syndrome and Depression