RE: Loss of Sense of Self Mikko 2/27/16 12:37 PM
RE: Loss of Sense of Self Mikko 3/30/17 1:03 PM
RE: Loss of Sense of Self tamaha 6/7/17 12:28 AM
RE: Loss of Sense of Self Mikko 6/7/17 12:53 PM
Mikko, modified 8 Years ago at 2/23/16 12:11 PM
Created 8 Years ago at 2/23/16 12:07 PM

Loss of Sense of Self

Hello,

I'm new here so here's a little background information on me. I've been practicing for 2 years, mainly vipassana. For the first year I meditated maybe 10 minutes a day and sometimes did body scans and a little longer guided meditations. I started meditating to get relief from an unhealthy level of stress. Meditation helped, but I still continued to feel an increasing amount of stress that eventually turned into anxiety and a couple of panic attacks.

For the last year, due to anxiety, mindfulness have become a big part of my everyday life as the significance of my formal practice has continued to increase as well. I'm now mostly anxiety-free, and in fact, anxiety together with my practice has been a great source of personal growth. I currently practice 40-60 minutes a day. I do vipassana, some samatha and occasionally body scans.

Here's my question. For the last couple of weeks, without a better way to put it, I have been feeling strange about reality and especially about the idea of myself. There has been no sensory experiences related to this, I've just had trouble getting in touch with or really feeling who I am and what my motives are. Also, my thoughts have often felt distant and weak. My formal practice has been going well with a little less distractions than usual.

I've wondered if, instead of a result of my practice, this could be depersonalisation that is common with people suffering from anxiety. However, I haven't felt any sensory symptoms of depersonalisation and my experiences haven't really involved anxiety. Because of this, I'm inclined to think that I'm going through some change in perspective.

Can you help me figure out what is happening?