Moment of Clarity?

thumbnail
Benjamin Babeshkin, modified 8 Years ago at 3/1/16 11:49 AM
Created 8 Years ago at 3/1/16 11:49 AM

Moment of Clarity?

I have had an experience and was hoping to get the communities take on what it was. 

To start off, I used to be an irreligious person.  I was/am an Agnostic Atheist.  

However I had an experience that I cannot explain. The best way of putting it would be a deeper version of the "Overview Effect" : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Overview_effect

I work as a Software Engineer, and since I can remember, have had a deep attraction to gaining Knowledge, Science and a search for meaning of existence.  I read a lot of books on biology, information theory, quantum physics, time, philosophy, Artificial Intelligence, etc.  All secular science books.

The experience is kind of hard to explain;  Blissful Fear, I think about sums it up.  It was like a cascade of "connect the dots" moments, which ended in a momentary loss of self(an expanded awareness, and no thought), and then a confusion/fear of what "that" was... followed by a sense of a weight being lifted off my shoulders that I did not realize was there before. 

After which I had an understanding of a few things that I did not see before, but had knowledge of that was not “connected”. 

1: That what we call the "self" is a compounded entity, a concept. Which I now see as Memory, Future projections based on memory, various emotions, genetic tendencies, and cultural programing.  Words, labels, and concepts are all "empty" we give them meaning.  I also lost the “fear” of death. 

2: Entropy or change is constant. Nothing ever stands still, and nothing is ever constant, except entropy.