Autism and meditation?

David Lawrence Platzer, modified 8 Years ago at 3/7/16 3:39 PM
Created 8 Years ago at 3/7/16 3:39 PM

Autism and meditation?

Hi -- I'm a phd student in anthropology at Johns Hopkins. I'm currently exploring the possibility of doing a bit of research on the experiences of dedicated meditators who identify as autistic (or "Aspie") or have been diagnosed as being on the autism spectrum. 

If anybody has any thoughts or experiences they might like to share, you can reach me at dlp@jhu.edu. 

Thanks!

David
thumbnail
Stick Man, modified 8 Years ago at 3/13/16 6:45 PM
Created 8 Years ago at 3/13/16 6:44 PM

RE: Autism and meditation?

Yeah I often wondered this. Given that so much of what buddhists regard as defilements of the mind are emotionally based, what happens when someone is lacking in emotion from the get-go, do they have a head start ?

Or, even, was buddha autistic and therefore only too keen to give up the normal emotional life of most of society. In short, is buddhism an autistic enterprise - and that's why so many people with the full deck of emotions and drives fail the path ?

And how far can we say that a monk who practices detatchment is truly going against the grain of human nature, or simply didn't have much of that nature anyway ?

And the unemotional end of things, like what they refer to as Actual Freedom, which means an end to emotions - is that simply an autistic take on buddhism ?

There you go, possibly all those questions are based on ignorance, but nothing ventured etc...
David Lawrence Platzer, modified 8 Years ago at 3/13/16 9:41 PM
Created 8 Years ago at 3/13/16 9:41 PM

Thanks for your reflections, John. I think these are really interesings thoughts.