Help wanted finding a teacher (esp to work with dark night)

TissueLion, modified 8 Years ago at 3/14/16 2:10 PM
Created 8 Years ago at 3/14/16 2:08 PM

Help wanted finding a teacher (esp to work with dark night)

Hello all, my apologies if this is the wrong forum or if this has been covered before - I've been searching for info about this topic but the more I read, the more confused I get. 

Basically, I'm looking for help / suggestions / recommendations on finding a teacher I can work with personally, especially one who can help with dark night stuff.

I've been practicing for the last seven years, though only in the last two years have I gone to 1-2 hours a day, including a 10-day vipassana retreat. I've switched through a lot of methods though most of them have been associated with the Vajrayana tradition. I also have a history of anxiety/depression/trauma and have been working through this with an excellent therapist for the past few years. What's happening lately though, I think as a result of meditation + therapy removing my defense mechanisms, is that I keep falling into experiences that sound exactly like the dark night described on the forum here. I have days where I get completely overwhelmed by painful emotions, mostly related to fear of death/fixation on impermanence, and every time I go back into those places they get worse because the methods I used to get myself out the previous time no longer work and I get less pleasure from things I used to enjoy. Even when it's not overwhelming, I feel like I'm never free of a sense that everything is futile. This seems to be more dark night than trauma because I have become much more functional through therapy, in terms of work, relationships, taking care of myself, etc., it's just that the truth of impermanence is unavoidable and suffocating me.