Breathing problem

Buddha 08, modified 8 Years ago at 3/21/16 5:20 PM
Created 8 Years ago at 3/21/16 5:20 PM

Breathing problem

Hi all, I am new to this forum and benefited a lot from all the disucssions here and thank you all for that.  I have been practising concentration meditation for 2 months now and started to see results in terms of sustained concentration, less stress and calmness within. When I start to sit and focus on my breath, my heart beat instantly starts to race within 2 or 3 minutes and that makes me to physically breath and take short breaths and discomfort in the throat. I can attain the stage where my mind is still like a blank space with a buzz sound in my ear but couldn't proceed further because of my concentration on breathing. If I just try to ignore breathing and let it go by itself, it makes me suffocate or makes me take forceful breaths. Did any one encounter this difficulty? Any suggestions? 

I have tried meditating at different times and still it happens. 
neko, modified 8 Years ago at 3/21/16 6:38 PM
Created 8 Years ago at 3/21/16 6:35 PM

RE: Breathing problem

Hello and welcome emoticon

It is common. You are probably a bit too anxious. Do not pay attention to your heartbeat. As for the breath, you cannot suffocate yourself by meditating: if that were a possibility, you'd have certainly read about it in the news, with meditation and "mindfulness" becoming more and more mainstream, right? It can be weird to let go of the breath and trust that, when you stop controlling it, your autopilot will take over and breathe for you, so to speak.