Stagnating on the Path?

thumbnail
Gabriel, modified 7 Years ago at 4/1/16 10:40 PM
Created 7 Years ago at 4/1/16 6:08 PM

Stagnating on the Path?

Hello friends,

I've been practicing meditation for several years now, and have done three 10-day Vipassana retreats, as well as a 40-day retreat at Pa Auk Tawya, in Burma. Meditation has been a consistent part of my life (although with fluctuating intensity in formal practice) since my first Vipassana retreat, about 4 years ago.

I'm fairly confident I crossed the A&P as a teen while experimenting with lucid dreaming/astral travel/sleep paralysis. Since that time, my outlook on life has changed quite a bit, in a way that fits typical Dark Night symptoms (pointlessness of worldly concerns, perpetual search for "an answer to life", feeling that something is "wrong", accrued interest in spiritual practices).

I believe I've also had another A&P experience in my first Vipassana retreat (about 5 years after 1st one). At the time, it seemed like a complete and everlasting ecstatic breakthrough, and I thought I "finally had it", as I suppose is common. Obviously, this faded away into a darker period on retreat, with a glimpse of peace at the end (Equanimity?).

In further retreats, especially the last one (10-day Vipassana in November 2015), I've been taking meditation practice more seriously. On retreat, I think I've consistently achieved the High Equanimity nana, but not 1st path yet, although there definitely were a few near misses that I thought "were it" at the time. 

Now, I'm in a context where I live in a peaceful environment, have few obligations (working part-time from home) and have a lot of spare and alone time. I feel the urge to get this done, as I'm tired of the switching back and forth between mild to strong despair/boredom/hopelessness and peacefulness/ease/spacefulness.