Access concentration?

bluedevils, modified 7 Years ago at 4/27/16 2:20 AM
Created 7 Years ago at 4/27/16 12:35 AM

Access concentration?

Hi, I'm fairly new to meditation and recently I've managed to progress to a point during my meditation where my breathing virtually stops after focusing on my breath for a while and I enter this state where I no longer need to focus on anything. I can maintain this state for a while, but it's hard to do as it requires a lot of concentration to block out distractions and my breathing is too faint to use as an anchor. There is also a lot of pressure around my forehead. The first time this happened it felt like I suddenly saw flashing lights, my eyes started darting around like crazy making it hard to keep them closed, my muscles were twitching and then my breath just abruptly halted.

I was wondering if anyone could verify if this sounded like access concentration. I've been looking for pleasent sensations to focus on to enter the 1st jahna, there are some weird tingling sensations but I still haven't had any luck yet after reentering this state several times.

Thanks
shargrol, modified 7 Years ago at 4/27/16 4:00 PM
Created 7 Years ago at 4/27/16 4:00 PM

RE: Access concentration? (Answer)

Access concentration is actually more of a gentle effort thing... kind of like how much presence it takes to shuffle a pack of cards. Enough control that the cards don't go flying everywhere, enough effort to bend and snap the cards, but enough looseness and lack of rigid control that allows the cards have the room and ability to snap out of your hands, and enough sensitivity to feel the sensations and adjust the energy of the the shuffle. Imagine you are gently shuffling an endless deck of cards - that's a good mental image, except the deck of cards here is the meditation object (awareness of the texture and sensation of breathing).