Dhamma Joti - Bad experience report

lifemagic Star, modified 7 Years ago at 5/31/16 3:48 AM
Created 7 Years ago at 5/31/16 3:48 AM

Dhamma Joti - Bad experience report

I'm a long-term volunteer teacher working in Phnom Pehn. I fellow teacher recommended Goenka's teaching to me and so I applied online to attend Dhamma Joti in Burma during a semester break. It was a routine application but asks you to be in good health. I passed a medical recently. I have one old issue, slight muscle weakness in my thighs. It means I meditate in a a chair and cannot get up and down from the floor, say to kneel, unless a chair is before me to push myself up on. I've been on long zen retreats before and it's never been an issue. Plus I do full teaching days, no problem. 

I described the issue in full on the online form for dhamma joti and received an acceptance shortly after. I travelled by land to Bangkok, got the visa, went by land to Yangon. When I arrived they had no record of me but I had my acceptence print out so it was OK. The unfriendly girl checking me in made me sign something saying I was in good health. 

Then the course manage interviewed me. I explained everything, he said that was fine. He wrote on my file 'please provide chair', and I was sent off for accomodation.

In the evening, the meditation started but the chair was not provided. I asked for one but the teacher said it was never allowed. I was given one extra cushion and allowed to move by the wall. I struggled but after a day we had to be interviewed by the teacher. Everyone had to be on the floor. I went there and said I'd need a chair next to me to get up and down. There was a chair folded next to him but he refused to unfold it. I explained that there's a weakness, and that I just cannot, but he was having none of it. He told me to leave the next day.