Looking for advice

Christopher Kerr, modified 7 Years ago at 6/2/16 7:16 AM
Created 7 Years ago at 6/2/16 7:16 AM

Looking for advice

Hey, Dho, I've been frequenting these forums for years, this is my first time posting. I've been meditating on and off for roughly eight years, but I've only really dedicated to my practice in the last two weeks. So much wasted time...but alas, I'll make up for it. I meditate once a day for an hour, and a few smaller sessions whenever I can manage. 

I follow my breath at the nostrils, counting from 1-10, starting over if I forget where I'm at, or space out. I feel really settled after 10-15 minutes. I can stay with the breath pretty easily, and distractions are to a minimum. I lose track of where I'm at with my counting more than I lose contact with the breath, if that makes sense. 

I know I haven't been meditating for long, so I want some perspective here. I feel like vittaka and vicara are present, and I realize I'm strengthening them. I'm not experiencing piti at all. Things are solid and peaceful, but it feels very serious. There's no positive physical feelings. I assume these will come if I keep returning to the breath?
shargrol, modified 7 Years ago at 6/2/16 7:48 AM
Created 7 Years ago at 6/2/16 7:47 AM

RE: Looking for advice

Gently investigate the serious feelings. Why are they there? Are you resisting something? Are you trying to protect something? Are you worried about something? How do they present themselves (what sensations make up the serious feeling, what moods, what thoughts)? Can you have the serious feelings and sense the openness and space around those feelings, too?

Look at your level of effort. What happens when you use less effort and soften the tissues of the body? What happens if you take deeper breaths and sit up straighter?

Experiment with these things and see what happens.