John's Body Scan Practice Log

John B, modified 7 Years ago at 6/16/16 10:18 AM
Created 7 Years ago at 6/16/16 10:14 AM

John's Body Scan Practice Log

To start, this is my first post on dharmaoverground despite spending time reading MCTB and forum topics almost daily for the last couple of years. Thank you to Daniel and everyone who makes this community what it is! I recently went on my first retreat, made some real changes in my life and progress along the path, and am excited to share my experiences and get comments and help as I continue forward.

A quick overview of my practice pre-retreat.  I was introduced to tai chi and began a sitting meditation about 12 years ago in high school, which I found generally helpful in terms of concentration, and lessening fatigue and headaches. I am a musician, and noticed more general benefits in helping out my creativity as a jazzer.  I continued practice off and on, having periods of several months or so with daily 30 minute sits.  My interest in meditation once again peaked a couple years back in grad school, when I started working on ways of combining mindfulness with music listening/playing, sort of in an MBSR vein. That helped me stay committed to a daily 45-60 minute practice the last two years, mostly with a focus on concentration.  I did pursue jhanic states for about 6-9 months in there with not much luck, however, the experiences helped me learn how to get fairly solid access concentration.