Metta Power

thumbnail
Clayton James Lightfoot, modified 13 Years ago at 6/12/10 9:14 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 6/12/10 12:57 AM

Metta Power

Hey all,

I recall in Daniel's book a reference to Dipa Ma cultivating many powers and rejecting them all except the power of Metta. I have no experience with the powers--as my concentration increases I got curious about this particular passage. It seems like a relativly beneficial and innocuous power... but I am not sure I understand exactly what it was.. was it the ability to radiate lovingkindness towards her students at will? I contemplated it and realized that my motives for cultivating any power would be ego based... so I don't feel like intentionally cultivating any power (even metta) is productive at this point. But I was hoping Daniel could clarify exactly what he was talking about a little more...

Edit: I searched through Daniel's book and didn't find this passage, maybe I imagined it...

Thanks...

Clayton
thumbnail
Antonio Ramírez, modified 13 Years ago at 6/13/10 3:30 AM
Created 13 Years ago at 6/13/10 3:30 AM

RE: Metta Power

You're mixing it up with Saints and Psychopaths, I think...
thumbnail
Clayton James Lightfoot, modified 13 Years ago at 6/13/10 12:30 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 6/13/10 12:24 PM

Thanks Antonio... I was trying to figure out where on earth I had read that. Hamilton of course... I just looked it up pg 103 and 104 if anyone is interested...

Metta,

Clayton
J Adam G, modified 13 Years ago at 6/13/10 9:39 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 6/13/10 9:39 PM

I'm reminded of Ramana Maharshi's simile that compares nondual awareness practice, seeing consciousness or awareness as if it were a self (as in, the opposite of anatta), as "the stick that stirs the fire and is consumed by it" because eventually awareness sees through the self-illusion. I wonder if in the same way, the ego cultivating metta would eventually be overwhelmed and consumed by the metta.