Andreas' Practice Log

Andreas Thef, modified 7 Years ago at 10/31/16 10:03 AM
Created 7 Years ago at 10/31/16 10:03 AM

Andreas' Practice Log

I've been meditating for about 8 years now. Mostly twice a day for 30 to 60 minutes each. Had phases with +4 hour sittings for multiple weeks in an almost retreat like setting. I'm not sure where I am at the moment but my guess is that most of my meditations I'm somewhere in stage 2 (Cause & Effect) or stage 3 (Three Characteristics) with occasional pushes into A&P territory. Sometimes I feel like I'm endlessly cycling through subtle dark night cycles in normal life which usually last from a few days to weeks. I think it doesn't matter too much as I am still in the process of learning about the stages.

For most of the past 3 years I've been trying to ramp up my concentration practice with some success. But I feel that it's time now to focus more on noting and make it to Equanimity and beyond. So without further ado I will describe my experiences in daily meditation in this log...
Andreas Thef, modified 7 Years ago at 10/31/16 12:14 PM
Created 7 Years ago at 10/31/16 12:14 PM

RE: Andreas' Practice Log

After reading a bit in Ron Crouch's old practice journal I begin to wonder if I'm not already deep in DN. I experience the same grimaces that Ron experienced and Kenneth Folk notes that this is DN territory (especially Misery and Disgust). However, I often experience them without having any conscious experience of A&P stuff.

Yesterday while falling asleep I noticed some very brief but obvious flash of light before my eyes. During the night I woke up twice and half a sleep and noted a small shift in perception from the watcher, who perceives an outside world to a consciousness that is the source of everything that happens. It's hard to explain and was rather subtle. However, it felt significant enough to mention it here.