How to deal with super persistent unpleasant sensations?

thumbnail
Doctor Avocado, modified 7 Years ago at 11/3/16 10:29 PM
Created 7 Years ago at 11/3/16 10:26 PM

How to deal with super persistent unpleasant sensations?

I've been practising for several years, but specifically Goenka-style Vipassana for the past last year. I've sat 5 retreats and currently have time to sit 3+ hours per day. 

I've been dealing with a very very persistent unpleasent tension in the left-centre of my chest. Approximately my heart area. It feels like a hollow centre, surrounded by a boundary of muscular tension. A feeling of heavy/tightness then radiates out from this area towards my upper chest and sides. There is some moderate fluctuation in size, sometimes the total area of unpleasantness is about 5cm radius, but other times in seems to consume most of my upper left chest area. Occasionally the seat of contraction will move toward my neck, and then back to my chest. There also seem to be tributaries or channels radiating out from this central area. Some seem to run into my lower belly, some into my neck and others into my left-side. Sometimes a ripple of contraction/heaviness is felt, although sometimes sensations like tingles. Sometimes if there's a loss of concentration then a snapping back to this area, there can also be a rapid expanded boundary of a fear contraction/tightness nearer the periphery of the body.

I've tried to remain equanimous, aware and investigate this area in a number of ways:
  • Sometimes I work inward, starting with what seems like the finer branches of the tributaries, then working inward to the central area, making sure I have total equanimity as I move closer to the area of intensity. I feel like reaction has largely ended. 
  • Sometimes I scan the area as a whole, like a halo moving up and down quickly. Sometimes this causes the entire area to dissolve into subtle vibrations.