Why can't I leave my breath alone?

Kieran Sedgwick, modified 7 Years ago at 12/7/16 10:51 PM
Created 7 Years ago at 12/7/16 10:51 PM

Why can't I leave my breath alone?

I'm very new to formal meditation practice, but fairly well read on the topic. I'm attempting to achieve access concentration, as described in Daniel Ingram's book, and I've chosen the breath to be my object. I've achieved access concentration once, and only once. I don't know how I did it, or what my practice was at the time.

For those interested, I started my formal practice because of a run of MCBT training. Great stuff.

My current problem is that I can't seem to focus on any expression of the breath, i.e. the sensations of the breath in any part of the body, without starting to consciously control my breathing. This is bad for a number of reasons, and extremely frustrating.

Any advice for a relative beginner? Is this normal? Should I choose a different object?
thumbnail
Nicky, modified 7 Years ago at 12/7/16 11:13 PM
Created 7 Years ago at 12/7/16 11:04 PM

RE: Why can't I leave my breath alone?

There is really no need to "focus" on the breath. All that is necessary is to keep the mind silent, flexible & awake (free from obstacles). The naturally quiet mind will naturally converge with the breath & know it. The mind knowing breathing is a "sign" that the mind is in a state free from craving & the other mental qualities that Buddhism instructs to give up & abandon. For the properly established mind, there is no choice that the breathing becomes its primary object. 

thumbnail
Noah D, modified 7 Years ago at 12/7/16 11:43 PM
Created 7 Years ago at 12/7/16 11:43 PM