I can channel some kind of energy at will?

Ryan Stone, modified 7 Years ago at 1/12/17 4:41 PM
Created 7 Years ago at 1/12/17 4:39 PM

I can channel some kind of energy at will?

Disclaimer: I'm very new to Buddhist ideology, and I've just really recently become interested in it and its implications. 

Without meditating, I can induce a weirdly intense tingly feeling in my body at will. I can't sustain it for a long time because it becomes increasingly intense. It feels like a constant buzz of energy and it seems like my body can't handle it for more than a period of time. I did a bit of research and it fits all the descriptions of Kundalini energy.

I've never really been a religious or spiritual man, and I find this really fascinating. I want to learn what it means and how I can harness it and how I can direct it. I've read a lot of accounts of the spiritual merits of meditation, and it seems like a layer beyond the physical realm, which I've never been aware of, but which I'm becoming more and more interested in pursuing. What does this mean and how can I progress?

Edit: I chanced upon this Reddit thread which kickstarted my interest in figuring out what everything really means.
neko, modified 7 Years ago at 1/14/17 5:10 AM
Created 7 Years ago at 1/14/17 5:10 AM

RE: I can channel some kind of energy at will?

Hello! Welcome tot his forum emoticon

Strictly speaking, it isn't any kind of energy, at least not in the current scientific sense of the word. It is a neurological phenomenon. It is a universal phenomenon that is known to every single "spiritual" tradition by different names. For example prana, qi, kundalini, and so on.

In Buddhist meditation terminology, it is one form of piti:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/P%C4%ABti

I suggest that you read MCTB, available for free download here:

http://integrateddaniel.info/book/
Ryan Stone, modified 7 Years ago at 1/14/17 5:45 AM
Created 7 Years ago at 1/14/17 5:45 AM